PFA Team of the year: Liverpool dominates with six players included in the Bext XI

PFA Team of the year: Liverpool dominates with six players included in the Bext XI

Playing a memorable 2021-2022 season led to Liverpool dominating the PFA Team of the year with six Reds included.

One of the prestigious honours in English football, Jurgen Klopp’s side set a new benchmark. In spite of being runners-up in the Premier League and Champions League by a whisker, Liverpool lifted the domestic cup double. The Merseysiders played every game possible throughout the season.

The exploits of the Reds have been enough for six Liverpool players to be included in the PFA Team of the year. It is Mane’s fourth inclusion in the Team of the Year, a third each for Alexander-Arnold, Salah, and Van Dijk. Meanwhile, Alisson and Thiago were featured for the first time.

Previously, in the Premier League winning season of 2019-20, five Reds featured in the Team of the year. Furthermore, Liverpool raised their bar to come with six winners this time.

Moreover, back in the 1982-83 campaign, for the first time, Liverpool had as many as six representatives in the XI.

2021-22 PFA Premier League Team of the Year: Alisson Becker, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Virgil van Dijk, Antonio Rudiger, Joao Cancelo, Bernardo Silva, Thiago Alcantara, Kevin De Bruyne, Sadio Mane, Cristiano Ronaldo, Mohamed Salah.

Liverpool star Mo Salah secures the PFA Players’ Player of the Year award.

Premier League’s joint top scorer Mo Salah registers his second Player of the year trophy. In a tight contest for the honor, the winger beat Man City’s Kevin De Bryune to take home the prestigious showpiece.

The Liverpool No. 11 who featured for the third time in Team of the year, scored 23 goals in the league and clocked 14 assists during the 2021/22 season. The Egyptian registered 31 goals across all competitions winning the EFL Cup and the FA Cup in the process.

Salah showed his gratitude in a social media post, saying:

There is no greater honour than winning an award that my colleagues voted on. I am very grateful to all of you!

PFA members vote for the winners of each award, choosing the players they feel have put in the best performances all year.

Salah is now one of only nine players in history to have won two PFA Players’ Player trophies. The forward joins Mark Hughes, Alan Shearer, Thierry Henry, Gareth Bale, Cristiano Ronaldo, Lucy Bronze, Kevin De Bruyne, and Fran Kirby on the list.

Share This


Wordpress (0)
Disqus ( )