Liverpool confirm final 24-men Champions League squad

Liverpool confirm final 24-men Champions League squad

Liverpool have confirmed their Champions League squad for the remainder of the tournament. The 24-man list has one player coming in and one going out.

The change in their Champions League squad has come following Liverpool’s signing of the Colombian superstar Luis Diaz.

Just like the change for their Premier League squad, Luis Diaz’s inclusion came at the expense of the exclusion of one player.

Luis Diaz added to Liverpool Champions League Squad

The player in question is Nat Phillips. The defender was dropped following his loan switch to AFC Bournemouth in the January transfer window.

Of course, Liverpool cannot name a 25-men squad due to UEFA’s homegrown rules. Hence, just like the Premier League, they have had to name a 24 man squad.

However, there is the option of a List B, which is different from the 24-men squad also known as List A. In list B, Liverpool can name unlimited players but with certain restrictions.

This means the players can only be under the age of 21 with at least two years’ training with the club. Also, the player has to be confirmed before midnight of a Champions League game.

Homegrown players like Curtis Jones, Conor Bradley and Tyler Morton make up List B. Harvey Eliott, even though below the age of 21, is not in list B due to not meeting the training years requirement. However, the wonderkid is already present in list A.

Moreover, Harvey Eliott has missed out on the Champions League action due to the ankle injury he suffered against Leeds United. He has only recently come back to first-team action. In his first game back, the youngster scored against Cardiff City in a 3-1 win in the FA cup.

A fellow youngster who missed out on the squad is Kaide Gordon. Like Elliott, Gordon also does not meet the training requirement and due to lack of free space in List A, the youngster misses out.

The final 24-men squad for Liverpool:

  • Goalkeepers: Alisson, Adrian, Caoimhin Kelleher
  • Defenders: Virgil Van Dijk, Ibrahima Konate, Joe Gomez, Joel Matip, Konstantinos Tsimikas, Andrew Robertson, Trent Alexander-Arnold
  • Midfielders: Fabinho, Thiago Alcantra, James Milner, Naby Keita, Jordan Henderson, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Harvey Elliott
  • Forwards: Mo Salah, Sadio Mane, Roberto Firmino, Diogo Jota, Luis Diaz, Takumi Minamino, Divock Origi
Share This


Wordpress (0)
Disqus ( )